Phoenix Show

The 2001 A Beach Odyssey tour kicked off last night with some surprise additions to the set list. It was nice to see some old ones and some songs that haven’t been played for a few years including Frank and Lola, Meet me in Memphis, When the Coast is Clear, Incommunicado, That’s My Story and I’m Stickin’ to it, Desparation Samba, and Last Mango in Paris. The Arizona Republic has a slide show with some pictures of Jimmy and the tailgate scene.

The New Tour Starts Tuesday

Sorry for reporting the incorrect start time. Arizona does not have Daylight Savings Time. The show starts at 8:00pm in Phoenix (11pm Eastern, 10pm Central, 9pm Mountain, 8pm Pacific).

Jackson Quigley (from the http://www.JimmyDOTcom.com web site) has been following the developments with the new 2001 Tour, and sends this along to Buffett News:

Look for tropical theme backgrounds on the set (dah!!). It has been totally revamped from the “Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays” tour. Also, several skits featuring the infamous Johnny “Martini” Lovell have been worked into the show. They have worked up a several different skits, and I hear a couple of them are quite hilarious. It will interesting to see which ones end up as keepers this Tuesday in Phoenix. I don’t know the reason, but Johnny has ended up being the star in a lot of skits over the years. Could it be that, “Only Jazz Musicians smoke marijuana?”

Air Margueritaville

From Joe Lombardi: The May 3-9 issue of the Weekly Gleener, which I believe is a newspaper published in NYC for that city’s large Jamaican population (that’s Jamaica as in island, not as in Queens), carried an article about Jimmy teaming up with Brian Jardin, Ian Dear and Versair, a supplier of airline food to open up a Jimmy Buffett Air Margueritaville (that’s how they spell it, it must be one of those English things) themed restaurant in Sangsters International Airport departure lounge in Montego Bay. According to the article additional Air Margueritaville restaurants are planned for Aruba, Puerto Rico & St. Maarten in the near furture and possibly Barbados and Caymen.